InTASC Model Core Teaching Standards

Oregon’s State Board of Education, as mandated by Senate Bill 290, is currently working on adopting core teaching standards that comply with the requirements set forth by the law; as such, the State Board will most likely be looking to the InTASC Standards as an alternative for this adoption. What are the InTASC Standards? We’re glad you asked!

In April of 2011, the Council of Chief State School Officers’ Interstate Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (CCSSO’s InTASC) completed the development of the Model Core Teaching Standards. This consortium of states, with 20 education representatives reigning from Oregon to Virginia, tasked themselves with deciding what knowledge and skills would a teacher need to have, regardless of where or what they taught, in order to best help their students reach the goal of being a 21st Century learner prepared for the world of college and career after high school. In this work, there were three active teacher practitioners on the task force to inform the process, two of whom were National Board Certified teachers. As presented, the standards intend to be more personalized for diverse learners and focus on 21st Century knowledge and skills, while recognizing that teaching necessitates a deep level of assessment literacy, and that improvement of instruction requires teachers moving from the silo of classrooms past to a more collaborative professional culture.

The InTASC Model Core Teaching Standards are divided into four main categories:

  • The Learner and Learning
  • Content Knowledge
  • Instructional Practice
  • Professional Responsibility

Further, each standard is broken up into sub-categories (Performances, Essential Knowledge and Critical Dispositions) that further delineate what each teacher should be able to know and do. These standards will effectively guide and inform each school district’s teacher evaluation tool. Therefore, it is imperative that each teacher is familiar with the InTASC Model Core Teaching Standards, as follows:

The Learner and Learning
Standard #1: Learner Development
The teacher understands how learners grow and develop, recognizing that patterns of learning and development vary individually within and across the cognitive, linguistic, social, emotional, and physical areas, and designs and implements developmentally appropriate and challenging learning experiences.

Standard #2: Learning Differences
The teacher uses understanding of individual differences and diverse cultures and communities to ensure inclusive learning environments that enable each learner to meet high standards.

Standard #3: Learning Environments
The teacher works with others to create environments that support individual and collaborative learning, and that encourage positive social interaction, active engagement in learning, and self motivation.

Content Knowledge
Standard #4: Content Knowledge
The teacher understands the central concepts, tools of inquiry, and structures of the discipline(s) he or she teaches and creates learning experiences that make these aspects of the discipline accessible and meaningful for learners to assure mastery of the content.

Standard #5: Application of Content
The teacher understands how to connect concepts and use differing perspectives to engage
learners in critical thinking, creativity, and collaborative problem solving related to authentic local and global issues.

Instructional Practice
Standard #6: Assessment
The teacher understands and uses multiple methods of assessment to engage learners in their own growth, to monitor learner progress, and to guide the teacher’s and learner’s decision making.

Standard #7: Planning for Instruction
The teacher plans instruction that supports every student in meeting rigorous learning goals by drawing upon knowledge of content areas, curriculum, cross-disciplinary skills, and pedagogy, as well as knowledge of learners and the community context.

Standard #8: Instructional Strategies
The teacher understands and uses a variety of instructional strategies to encourage learners to develop deep understanding of content areas and their connections, and to build skills to apply knowledge in meaningful ways.

Professional Responsibility
Standard # 9: Professional Learning and Ethical Practice
The teacher engages in ongoing professional learning and uses evidence to continually evaluate his/her practice, particularly the effects of his/her choices and actions on others (learners, families, other professionals, and the community), and adapts practice to meet the needs of each learner.

Standard #10: Leadership and Collaboration
The teacher seeks appropriate leadership roles and opportunities to take responsibility for
student learning, to collaborate with learners, families, colleagues, other school professionals, and community members to ensure learner growth, and to advance the profession.

InTASC Model Core Teaching Standards
Performances, Essential Knowledge, and Critical Dispositions sub-standards (in both Word & PDF)